Compass

Fresh Perspectives You Can Use.

Steve Pavlina – A Goldmine for Smart People

Steve PavlinaAs promised last week, today I want to introduce you to a brilliant man whose work I discovered only a short while ago : Steve Pavlina, in his own words, is perhaps the most intensely growth-oriented individual you will ever meet.

But first a big Thank You for the overwhelming response to my new COMPASS broadcast last Friday – many of you have renewed their subscriptions to receive my eNewsletter at an additional address, others just confirmed so they could download my article BEGINNING OF A JOURNEY as their Thank You gift.

A special note of gratitude goes to all of you who have forwarded COMPASS to friends last week – quite a number of new subscribers have appeared on my mailing list. It is very encouraging to see how many people are genuinely interested in improving their lives.

And this is exactly where Steve Pavlina comes in – when I read his first article about two months ago I couldn’t believe my luck : I had discovered a goldmine ! His style is exploratory, clear, to the point and always brings home an important aspect of how life really works.

The goal of his website with the subtitle Personal Development for Smart People is to help you achieve outstanding effectiveness while maintaining internal balance, where your thoughts, feelings, actions, and skills are all working together to create the life you truly desire. What could be more descriptive and inspiring ?

Most of his articles are not exactly short, but they are always exhaustive – never exhausting; I immediately identified with his viewpoints and experiences, which is gratifying when you suspect that some of your own opinions stray quite a bit from the social norm.

What Steve says about Dealing With Tragedy and Loss, for example, echos precisely what I wrote about in my article GRIEF when my father died in 2004.

One of his more broadly based articles is The Meaning of Life : How shall we Live? What I liked very much is that the first thing he does there is explore what past civilisations knew about this topic – “Let’s Ask the Old Greeeks About It”. I am doing something very similar with an article about Hercules I am writing at the moment.

Right now I am reading a book called “Ask and It Is Given” by Esther and Jerry Hicks with the subtitle ‘Learning to Manifest Your Desires’ – Steve says this is the book the film ‘The Secret’ is based on, which he has seen recently. I am still trying to find a copy on DVD here in Cape Town. The Foreword to the book is by Wayne Dyer, who is among my all-time favourite authors : his work has been instrumental in my own personal growth.

Frankly, I could go on and on about the absolute wealth of information on self development that can be found on Steve Pavlina’s site, with direct links to hundreds of his articles, but I don’t want to make this posting too long.

Decide for yourself and join me in also bookmarking his blog in your browser – personally, I am RSS-feeding it into My Yahoo! homepage so that I can check on his contributions easily every day. If you are reading COMPASS, you are certainly among the smart people Steve Pavlina is addressing.

Until next time, all the best from : Berend

Friday, 9 June 2006 - Posted by | 1. COMPASS eNewsletter, 5. BLUE CRANE Partners

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

